East of the rift valley Region

The East of the Rift Valley Region is one of two Regions in Kenya.  It comprises of all the Convents of the Little Sisters of St. Francis found in  Nairobi Archdiocese, Nakuru, Meru, Embu, Kitui and Machakos Dioceses.

The Region is under the leadership of a Regional Superior and currently Rev. Sr. Alice Wanjiku Regional Superior assisted by three Council Members: Sr. Lucy Wanza the Vicaress, Sisters Rose Mugo, Racheal Chepkemoi and Irimina Nungari as Councilors.

The Administrative House / Regional House is situated in Kasarani in the outcast of Nairobi city 3km off Nairobi – Thika Super Highway and approximately 15 km from the city center. There are 162 Sisters living 27 Communities and serving in 7 Dioceses.


Since our mission is to reach out with compassion to the marginalized, the Little Sisters of St. Francis East of the Rift Valley Region are involved in Health ministry, Education at different levels, Social/Pastoral ministry, Hospitality and Administration.

Apart from being involved with running the Institutions for the Institute, the Little Sisters in East of the Rift Valley are also involved with Diocesan Institutions and those of the government.  Today the Sisters take pride in their newly constructed home for the aged, retired and sick members.  We strongly believe that after active service of many years in the Institute, the Sisters deserve a descent place for rest and care.   We express our heartfelt gratitude for all generosity accorded to us towards the completion of Lady Jacoba, a home that is on the Nakuru – Nairobi high way about 5 kilometers from Nakuru town.  Though the home is complete and in use, we still have great plans to increase on facilities to take care of growing number of Sisters.  Donations can be channeled through the Regional Office, P.O. Box 62676, Nairobi – Kenya.