North-eastern Region – Tanzania

Tanzania was formally under EAST OF RIFT VALLEY REGION (E.O. R.V.R) in Kenya.

The Little Sisters of St. Francis of Assisi started working in Tanzania since 1991, when St. Clare Convent, in Chanjale, Mwanga District, and Kilimanjaro Region was officially opened.

Due to far distance between Kenya and Tanzania, the General Chapter of August 2010, decided that Tanzania becomes a Region, so as to bring services nearer to the sisters.

Therefore, Tanzania was officially declared a Region on the 14th December, 2013. The name chosen by the Sisters is NORTH EASTERN REGION TANZANIA, which comprises of Arusha Archdiocese and Same Diocese in Kilimanjaro Region.

So far we have been working in two Dioceses in Tanzania, but from 2017 we extended our services to Shinyanga Diocese and Dar-es-Salaam Archdiocese.  The sisters working in this part of the Region are only Thirty eight (38) in Number.

The current Regional Superior is Sr. Brigid Kokiambo, Sr. Aquillina Mwithi the Vicaress, Sr. Gudelia Msuya the second Councilor and Sr. Esther Masubi as the substitute Councilor.


The Little Sisters here in Tanzania are involved in different types on apostolate such as:

  • Education
  • Medical
  • Communication
  • Secretarial work
  • Matrons in Schools
  • Social work
  • Development
  • Management



  1. a) The institutions that belong to the Little Sisters are as follows:
  1. Mama Kevina Hope Centre – Stelingi
  2. Mother Kevin English Medium Primary school- Chambogo
  3. Mother Kevin English Medium Kindergarten / Nussery School- Chambogo
  4. St Clare Girls` Secondary School –Ijinyu Kamadufa Village.
  1. b)     Diocesan institutions.
  1. Kandoto Secondary School – Same Town
  2. Chanjale Seminary – Chanjale Parish Mwanga District.
  3. St. Teresa of Calcutta Girls` Secondary School – Same Majevu Village.


  1. i) Little Sisters owned Institutions:
  1. Mama Kevina Feeding Program- Kijenge Parish.
  2. Padre Pio Nursery School_ Njiro Parish
  1. ii) Church owned Institutions:
  1. Aaidro Education office – Arusha Archdiocese.
  2. Aaidro Pre- School Program – Arusha Archdiocese.
  3. St. John Paul II Formation Centre – Kisongo Arusha Municipals

North East Region – Tanzania was inaugurated in December 2013.  Initially it belonged to East of the Rift Valley Region which covered Nakuru, Nairobi, Embu, Meru, Kitui and Machakos Dioceses in Kenya and Arusha and Same Dioceses in Tanzania.  The young Region now covers the two Dioceses of Tanzania and it has about 35 Sisters.  The current Regional Superior is Sr. Regina Namagheri.

The Sisters in the Region teach in the schools and others are involved in administration work within the two Dioceses.  One of the Institute’s Formation Houses is located in the Region.